Within TEASys – Tübingen Explanatory Annotation System – we have structured our explanatory annotations according to categories and levels of annotations.

Annotation categories

The annotation system’s categories comprise the following:

A language (lexikon, syntax, etc.)

B form (verse, narrative structure, iconicity, etc.)

C intratext (motifs, recurring structures, etc.)

D intertext (relations to other texts)

E context (biography, history, philosophy, theology, etc.)

F interpretation (synthesis A-E)

G textual variants (variants relevant to the understanding of the text)

H questions (items that require annotation; comments on research already done relating to an item)

Annotation Levels

Levels of annotations are structured in accordance with the information they provide. They are not absolute but relative:

Level 1: basic information for text comprehension

Level 2: further information, based on information presented on level 1

Level 3: more advanced information, based on information presented on levels 1 and 2